Creative expression through the written word

Take that step

Everyone has goals. Dreams of their heart. Things that excite them. Things that seem so audacious you are afraid to go for it. For those ruled by fear, we keep these things silently inside us, ignoring the call to do, be, and achieve. We talk ourselves out of action and, let me tell you, we are pretty good at coming up with logical reasons as to why we are better off delaying action, or flat out not taking action at all. 

Do I sound like I know what I am talking about? Um….yeah! I’m no different then anyone else. I have big dreams and there are some very real fears hanging out in my head and heart that are keeping me from the life of my dreams. 

However, there are those that face their fears. Face the voice of doubt and insecurity head on. Those who keep their eye on the big goal and take the first step toward their dreams. The interesting thing is that once you take that first step the next one becomes easier and easier and easier until you don’t question. You don’t doubt. You don’t fear. Often times the first step is the biggest hurdle. 

I’ve surrounded myself with people that challenge me to go for my dreams. I will admit it scares the crap out of me but it also calls me to a higher level of BE-ing. There are definitely things in my life that I haven’t overcome my fear and made progress on but I’m learning and each small step is a step of victory. 

So today….my encouragement to all of you is this: no matter how frightening it may seem do one thing, make one step toward your dreams today. Reach for the stars and if you fail at least you fail while daring greatly. This is the adventure of life. 

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

