Creative expression through the written word

Grow a Habit

So most people say that you can create a new habit in 21 days but science has said that it actually takes at least 66 days and for some people it can take as long as 254 days. That’s right people, 2 – 9 months! 

I have to be honest and tell on myself. I’ve failed at creating new habits because doing something for 21 days before it became something I did without thinking about it was daunting. For some that might seem like nothing but to me?

21 days of eating better, exercising more, getting an hour of writing time in everyday, getting up earlier, marketing my businesses more, gardening, blogging daily (or near daily)….. all these things are things I want in my life but the habits I need to have in place to make these things a vital part of my life aren’t there and when I think about creating new habits in these areas I feel overwhelmed. 

I know it’s important to have a good support system in place. (I have that in some areas). I know that I need to take baby steps and not get discouraged if I fail. (I sort of have that). I know mindset is important. (I try to stay positive). However, I just feel like I am missing the motivation to really put the effort in for long term change. I feel exhausted thinking about changing my habits. 

I’ve heard people say that you can’t make change until it is more painful to stay where you are. I guess things haven’t become painful enough to inspire lasting change and that actually makes me sad. I shouldn’t need things to get bad before I make things better. 

Today is a day of feeling meh and uninspired. 

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

