Creative expression through the written word

The Top Three

Someone asked me the other day what my favorite experience has been to date. I had to think about it. I’ve enjoyed my life and I’ve had some great experiences along the way. The conversation made me start thinking about those experiences so I decided to share my top three.

My first favorite experience:

Well, I guess that would be being Miss Blaine 1985. That really changed my life. Changed my perspective on a lot of things. I learned how to interview, how to sit, stand, walk and present myself. I learned how to speak in front of a crowd and I learned self confidence. I also learned a lot about what it takes to represent your city and how to be politically correct. It was a lot to learn and a huge responsibility for a 17 year old. 

My second favorite experience:

This might sound funny to some people but I loved my first cruise. I’ve been on a couple since then but the whole experience of a floating hotel and entertainment center was awesome. You can eat 24 hours a day. You can drink 24 hours a day. You can layout in the sun. You can explore all the destinations you are in port for. It was fun and relaxing and I would cruise again in a heartbeat. 

My third favorite experience:

To be honest….this experience actually scared me at first. I went to São Paulo, Brazil for work. I had never travelled internationally and I had never done it by myself either. I heard lots of scary warnings about theft and attacks and I was worried about being alone. I was forced out of my comfort zone and despite my fear I went and it was amazing! I loved it. I learned I needed to plan better for connecting flights and that I just needed to relax through customs. My biggest take away from this experience was that I really love foreign travel and I want to do it more. 

I hope to have many more adventures and experiences. It’s all about staying open to opportunities and being willing to push through your fears. 

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

