Creative expression through the written word

Easily offended

I have recently let my attitude slip when someone pushed my “offended” button. I work pretty hard at being tolerant and allowing people to be themselves so for whatever reason this person’s words caught me at the wrong time and BLAM…..feathers were ruffled on this Rooster and I crowed my indignation right back.  (Insert deep sigh here)

Just to be clear, the dictionary defines offended as annoyance or resentment brought about by a perceived insult to or disregard for oneself or one’s standards or principles: be/feel offended, take exception, take something personally, feel affronted, be/feel resentful, take something amiss, take umbrage, be/get/feel upset, be/get/feel annoyed, be/get/feel angry, get into a huff.

The thing is, this person got offended about something I posted on Facebook (land of verbal vomit and raging opinions) and I usually just let people’s comments pass me by because I choose to allow people the right to say and believe what they want and I choose to stay friends regardless of people’s opinions/beliefs. 

So why this one comment, which was tame really, offended me so much is beyond me. I do know why I responded though. I spend a  lot of time trying to allow people to be human with all their choices, opinions and idiosyncrasies so every now and then I get really tired of it not being reciprocal. 

Is it too much to ask for people to follow the golden rule? Treat others as you want to be treated? Speak to others as you want to be spoken to? I mean, seriously, how can we ever expect the world to change if we can’t stop being so judgmental of each other? I feel like I live in the Twilight Zone where people say one thing but do the opposite. 

Maybe I’m just being naive. Maybe I’m believing we can be more than we actually can be. Either way I’m feeling rather disheartened both with others and with myself for sinking to their level. Oh well, tomorrow is another day. 

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

