Creative expression through the written word

Sweet temptation

IMG_7608  Believe it or not I am not the sweets person in my house. Don’t get me wrong, I love a bowl of ice cream but the sweet tooth in my house is my husband Ray. Talk about a sugar addiction! I read recently that sugar is more addictive than cocaine! Seriously! I can believe it because he simply can’t say no to sweets…. of any kind.

Im more of a visual sweets person. They look delicious but when I taste it, it doesn’t quit match up to what a I was hoping for. I save all kinds of recipes thinking someday I will try this but I never get around to it. Much to my husbands disappointment.

I’m much more likely to want something salty or savory. Give me potato chips or tangy cheeses and crackers and I am all in but the bag of chocolates…I am okay without it. I’ve talked about weaning sugar out of our diet and you would have thought I suggested we go back to the Stone Age. If you could have seen my husbands face!

All that said, it’s really hard for people to say no to sugar and it comes in many things but it might be the best thing for our health to eat less of it. What about you? What do you think about sugar as an addiction and how much sugar do you consume in a day? Are you looking for ways to eat less sugar and still feel like you are indulging? If so, what have you discovered? Inquiring minds really want to know!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

