Creative expression through the written word

The Making of a Friend

I am absolutely positive that my life would not be what it is or where it is if it wasn’t for my friends. Don’t get me wrong. I feel the same way about my family and my upbringing but friends are the foundation of my life. So the question becomes, how do you make a friend?

I’m sure everyone has their own opinion on how to make friends with people. I am sure there are just as many people who wish they could make friends easily. I believe that we are naturally gifted with an inner awareness of others, call it a sixth sense if you will. I “feel” people way before I move toward friendships. I know when someone feels “Right” or “Off”. The older I have gotten the more I trust that instinct. I don’t force friendships with people who feel “off” to me. If anything, I steer clear or at the least keep them at a distance.

It may not be the answer that people are looking for in how to make friends but it works for me. Once my intuition says, “go” then I often spend time looking for ways I connect with someone. Do we have similar interests? Similar spiritual viewpoints? Do we love the same kinds of food or beverages? Can we laugh together? Laughter and a great sense of humor is the biggest connector point I look for. Then I just listen to them. Really listen. People want to talk about themselves and if you are willing to listen you can learn a lot.

It’s not foolproof but as I said before, it works for me. How do you make friends?

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

