Creative expression through the written word

A Helping Hand

I don’t think it is actually possible to get through this life without someone helping you out, in some way. We may choose to be loners or distant ourselves but there is no way we can actually exist entirely on our own with no help from anyone. At some point, someone will help you.

I tend to be the type of person that does things “on my own”. I don’t generally ask for help from anyone and even when I get help, like one of my kids loading the dishwasher, I will often go behind them and reload the dishwasher because I don’t understand why I can get all the dishes into the dishwasher but they can only manage to get half of them in there. (Totally serious irritation!) The point is….I tend to do for myself and I don’t even notice half the time if someone is standing there with their hand out to help.

Its not intentional believe me. I’ve been trying to be more aware of the help that surrounds me and accepting of it when I do see it. Sometimes, big moments happen where we know that without someone’s help our lives would have gone a different direction. My topic today is a time when someone helped me. The time that immediately came to mind was twenty years ago when a friend called up and said, “Come to Denver and save me.” They wanted me to come and put their office in order and then run the office side of things.

Their offer of help came in the guise of a request for me to help them but in truth it gave me a career. Set me on the path I am on today and opened my eyes up to a whole new way of life. By helping them they helped me find my purpose. The thing is, we don’t always recognize that we are being given a helping hand until after the fact.

I try to keep that in mind when I reach out to help others. Just because I am trying to help doesn’t mean they see it that way. If I do the best I can, for who I can, when I can then I can fee myself from expectations on the end results. I can just offer the helping hand and they can accept it or not. Vice versa, I can “not see” the hand reaching out to help me or I can choose to be aware of it and be grateful when it happens.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

