Creative expression through the written word

When the Rooster Crows

When I first started dating my husband the first major difference between the way we functioned as adults was the fact that he is a major night owl and I am a morning person. Even twenty eight years later I am the early to bed , early to rise person and my sweet hubby is the up all night, party like a rock star guy.

My topic of the day is “Do you work better in the morning or night?” The older I get the more I struggle with getting up early but once I get up I always do much better in the morning. When evening hits I am ready to snuggle in and chill out. Forget about working. Of course with my job I don’t get to not work at night. So for those nights I make sure I get plenty of rest and I am not above using energy drinks and protein to get through it.

I have much more energy in the mornings and I am clear headed and can think through problems better. I think because I am a list maker I like the better part of the day to check off those items. It could also stem from the time when I first had children and was a stay at home mom. My husband would got to work and I would spend the day with the kids, cleaning house, doing laundry, baking, making dinner. It filled me with a sense of accomplishment to have everything done when my husband came home.

Of course, since I was born in the year of the Rooster, perhaps I am just naturally inclined to rise with the sin and get the day moving. Regardless….I am a morning person and do much better work in the morning. What about you?

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

