Creative expression through the written word

Are you content?

To be content means to be in a state of peaceful happiness. What exactly, do you need to be content? I’ve asked myself that question many times over the course of my life. Each time I have asked that question and taken the time to come up with an answer it has brought me clarity of direction.

We live in a world where instant gratification is more common than patience, where the quest for more…for bigger….for better is a driving force in people’s lives but truly….that doesn’t mean you are content. I know people who live off the grid with next to nothing but they are far happier than people I know who are wealthy. Getting and having things does not make one content. So, again, I ask….what makes you content?

The things that have made me content in life have changed over the years depending on where I am at in life. There are some common things like my husband and my children. My extended family but the things that make me content right now are seeing progress toward goals, studying a topic I have long been interested in and spending time with my mother who has Alzheimer’s.

I don’t expect that those things would make everyone content but it is what provides me with a state of peaceful happiness right now. I know that what will make me content will change and I am okay with that. The key is to being aware of what makes you content in the NOW. We all need moments of contentment. We all need to know what brings us peaceful happiness when the world can be full of such chaos. The trick is to enjoy your contentment when you need to but no get stuck there. Getting stuck there becomes disastrous but that is a whole different topic.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

