Creative expression through the written word

This isn’t Kansas

“Toto, I have a feeling we aren’t in Kansas anymore.” – Dorothy, from the Wizard of Oz.

I love that line….it expresses so much and yet simply states the obvious. Today’s topic is what is my favorite place? My favorite place is a place I have not been but want to go to. It calls to my soul. I want to stand on the Cliffs of Moher, with the winds whipping my hair and the tang of the ocean scenting the air. I want to look out and see and endless amount of water. There is just something about even the pictures that give me goosebumps.

cliffs-of-moher-on-the-west-coast-of-ireland-pierre-leclerc

I’m planning a trip to Ireland and sometimes it frightens me to about going because I have a very emotional reaction to it and I can’t even imagine what it is going to feel like for me emotionally to actually be there. Something is calling me to go. To walk the fields, to see the countryside, to smell the air and taste the culture. I’m almost afraid I will never want to return home again.

So I dream….and plan….and wait for the day I can stand here and take my own picture of the Cliffs of Moher. I wait for the day I can tell my travelling companion, no matter who it ends up being, “Well, we aren’t in Kansas anymore.” (Not that I’m from Kansas mind you but it just seems appropriate.)

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

