Creative expression through the written word

Invitation to Dinner

When I was a little girl my Grandmother used to ask me who I would ask to dinner if I could talk with anyone in the world. I think it was her way of trying to figure out where my head and my heart were focused but over the years I have seen lots of people asking this same question and each time I think about it I feel like my answer is different.

When I was a teenager I would have named anyone of the music artists I listened to or perhaps one of the stars I had a crush on. It would never have occurred to me to use such an opportunity to learn and to grow. During my twenties it was all about people I respected as parental guides. Of course I was raising children and the people I respected were examples of the kind of parent I thought I wanted to be. In my thirties I would have chosen people who I admire in business. People who I thought could help me discover my strengths and my skills  as a business owner.

Now, in my forties I have realized that the people I would most like to meet are the people who can impact my spiritual growth the most. People I admire like the Dalai Lama and Deepak Chopra. People who can challenge me and inspire me to be a better person. To grow in wisdom. What I realize now is that who I am in this world affects every experience in this world. I would spend time with people who make me want to be a better person.

So, who would you invite to dinner? Who would you spend your time with if you were given a chance?

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

