Creative expression through the written word

Feeling like some Fiction?

I don’t know about you but lately with all the political hoopla going on I find that I love books even more. Books give me an opportunity to shut down the bombardment of opinions that are flowing from every direction like a tidal wave and for however brief a time, let’s me focus on something else.

Today’s topic was “What is the last book of fiction that you read?” Well, that is kind of unfair as I am never without a few fiction books in progress. I just finished three romances and returned them back to the library and that doesn’t even include the numerous titles I am reading on my Kindle. So….the actual last book I finished was 22 nights by Linda Winstead Jones. My review on Goodreads for this book is:

“This was an interesting story about General Merin, who unbeknownst to him married Belavalari through her tribe’s customs on the night before he left their village. When General Merin returns to the village to bring Bela to the Emperor as a potential bride he discovers the truth and must submit to being bound to her for 22 days and nights before a divorce can be granted and she is free to be presented to the Emperor.

However, nothing as is easy as it sounds like it will be for these two, who have no love for each other and do not want to be married. Add in a magical sword and some danger and 22 nights might be long enough to change their minds.”

It was a pretty quick read and it allowed me to transport myself to another world and that is exactly what I needed. So tell me, how often do you use reading as an escape from the realities of life or the stresses you are faced with everyday?

Comments on: "Feeling like some Fiction?" (2)

  1. Reading and writing is my escape! Funny, I have read a lot more since this election junk started!

    I love reading because it not only transports you into another word, but if the book is good–you change a little after you’re finished.

    My current fiction is Aldous Huxley’s “Island”.

    • Exactly! I have a friend who just posted this on Facebook and I love it:
      I opened a book and in I strode, now nobody can find me. I’ve left my chair, my house, my road, my town and my world behind me. I’m wearing the cloak, I’ve slipped on the ring, I’ve swallowed the magic potion. I’ve fought with a Dragon, dined with a King, and dived into a bottomless ocean. I opened a book and made some friends. I shared their tears and laughter and followed their road with its bumps and bends, to the happily ever after. I finished my book and out I came. The cloak could no longer hide me. My chair, and my house are just the same but I have a book inside me. – Julia Donaldson

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

