Creative expression through the written word

Something New

If you aren’t learning….you are stagnating. If you aren’t pushing yourself to grow and gain knowledge and wisdom then you are missing the whole point of living. 

Every minute experience is teaching us something about the world we live in or about ourselves and if we are really paying attention it’s teaching us both at the same time. The truck to learning is awareness. Being conscious as you move through your day and not just on auto-pilot. Noticing your interactions through this thing called life and seeing how each time we touch another living thing it shapes us and our perspective of the world.

Last year was not a good year for me. It was emotional and we struggled financially and I can’t honestly tell you how we made it through the year because it looked bleak all year. The thing is…we did make it. Day by Day by freaking, exhausting, emotionally draining day. 

Over the course of the year I had multiple friends telling me how strong I was because if it was them they would _______(fill in the blank). What I learned about myself is this: I can handle a lot of shit, an amazing amount actually and keep going as long as my foundation is strong. 

What is my foundation? My husband, my children, my friends, my faith. I also learned this: Being the strong one sucks sometimes because when you need to fall apart it often throws the world around you into chaos and then you have to fix the chaos and fix yourself. I can count on one hand the people I feel I can show that fragile, vulnerable side to but my life wouldn’t be what it is without them.

So 2016 was a year full of learning for me but at least I’m growing and everyday a better version of myself is out there living, learning and experiencing life. 

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

