Creative expression through the written word

Oh the Places You’ll Go!

“Congratulations!  Today is your day.  You’re off to Great Places!  You’re off and away!” – Dr. Seuss

Today’s topic is places I have been. I used to think that my life was super boring and that I hadn’t been anywhere of note, especially since I know a couple of people who have travelled all over the world but then I talked with a friend who has absolutely no desire to travel. No desire to see the world, experience different cultures, see different vistas and architecture and I realized that I have actually travelled more than some but not near enough for my own happiness.

That being said, travel is definitely top on my bucket list at this point in my life. Perhaps in another post I will talk about where I want to go but here I am going to talk about where I have been.

  • Alaska – Born and lived there until I was 9
  • Arizona – spa retreat with my girlfriends
  • California – family
  • Colorado – lived for 7 years
  • Florida – went for work
  • Idaho – road trip
  • Kansas – family
  • Minnesota – family
  • Missouri – family
  • Montana – road trip
  • Nevada – work & family
  • New York – went for work
  • Oregon – road trip, family, and work
  • Utah – road trip
  • Washington – lived her for most of my life
  • Wyoming – road trip
  • Catalina Island – Cruise
  • Jamaica – Cruise
  • Honduras -Cruise
  • Roatan -Cruise
  • Grand Cayman -Cruise
  • Canada – Um….hello stomping grounds from high school on as we live by the border
  • Mexico – Cruise
  • Brazil- went for work

When they are listed out it seems like I’ve been a lot of places but there is so much more of the continental United States that I want to see and don’t even get me started on the adventures I want outside of the US. I can certainly say that travel is important to me whether it is a weekend trip away or a full on vacation.

Statistics say that Americans do not use their vacation time and I can’t believe that we choose to not take advantage of it when we have it. I encourage you to use up your travel time and explore this great big world we all call home. There is so much to see and experience and your life will be all the richer for it!

“You can steer yourself  any direction you choose.  You’re on your own. And you know what you know.  And YOU are the guy who’ll decide where to go.” – Dr. Seuss

 

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

