Creative expression through the written word

Looking Forward

Today is the first day of 2017 and I find myself wondering what this New Year will bring to me and my family. A lot can happen to a person in 365 days. Heck, a lot can happen to a person in 24 hours.

Looking forward is an interesting concept – it requires one be fully present in the now to have a clear grasp on what can come in the future. It’s a part of being aware of your desires and dreams but not missing the here and now. It’s about clear focus. It can be so easy to get lost in the future and lose track of the now. It’s a life skill that not many people pay attention to. They just go about their business and then get surprised when things they want either don’t show up or even more surprising to some – they do.

So for this first day in January I am flexing my looking forward muscle and honing the skill in the hopes that every day will bring me closer to the dreams of my heart. I am looking forward to seeing what moments are going to make up this year. What snippets of time, laughter and memories are going to be the hallmark of 2017.  I think I am most looking forward to this journey of self-discovery I have put myself on. I have no idea what is to come, what revelations these series of questions will bring me but I fully intend to enjoy the journey.

 

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

